Coach Accommodation Specialists

Hosts Hilary Keeley | (Jennie Chapman - National Trust)
Address 413 Hobart Road
Phone 03 6344 7824 | (03 6344 6233 National Trust)
Fax 03 6344 4033


Contact Name Hilary Keeley
Opening Times/
Days Closed
9 am to 5 pm Mon to Sat | Sunday 12 noon to 4 pm | (April to September house closed 4 pm)

Group cost

Admission $6.50 p.p. Adult | $5:00 p.p. concession
Guided Tour Included in group cost
Franklin House

Attractions Outline

A 19th Century Van Diemen's Land modest gentleman's residence recently refurbished in its original glowing colours. Built in 1838 for Mr Britton Jones emancipist, brewer, innkeeper and entrepreneur. Built by his gang of convicts with clay onsite. The quality of the architectural design and high degree of skill displayed in its joinery and construction are testament to the talents of this convict work force.

Refreshments & costs

Morning/Afternoon Tea provided on request, quoted accordingly
Lunch provided on request, quoted accordingly
Seating Capacity 30 inside / 50 outside in garden
Tour/visit time allocation 1 - 1.5 hours including meals


Toilets Yes
Disabled access Yes
Booking notice required Yes
Coach parking / turning Yes

Additional Information

Set in spacious grounds and beautiful gardens it is a precious reminder of Tasmania’s European heritage.
View Larger Map